Causeway Coast and Glens

Sub Menu

Information about the Causeway Coast and Glens Borough

The Causeway Coast and Glens Borough is a largely a rural borough including the main towns of Coleraine, Ballymoney, Ballycastle and Limavady.

The tourism industry is an important part of our local economy, and our Borough is home to the Giant’s Causeway World Heritage Site, along with a host of other visitor attractions along the famous Causeway Coastal Route including Glenariff Forest Park, Carrick-a-Rede Rope Bridgethe Dark Hedges, Ballintoy Harbour and Roe Valley Country Park. 

The borough stretches from Lough Foyle in the west to the Glens of Antrim in the east covering an area of 1,968 square kilometres. This makes Causeway Coast and Glens one of the largest Councils in Northern Ireland in terms of land mass. 

Our Council area also offers 31 historic parks and gardens, 15 national nature reserves and 4 Outstanding Areas of Natural Beauty as well as a number of Blue Flag beaches and renowned golf courses.

These attractions are complimented by events and activities which are internationally recognised, respected and supported, like the North West 200 road race, The Open golf torunament, and the SuperCup NI football tournament. The area’s events’ calendar also includes the Ould Lammas Fair in Ballycastle, regarded as Ireland’s oldest fair.

Click here to view the 'Visit Causeway Coast and Glens' website.

The Role of Local Councils

In Northern Ireland, local councils are responsible for a range of services which affect people in the areas where they live. 

This includes:
- Waste collection and disposal, recycling and waste management
- Local planning functions
- Grounds maintenance, street cleaning, cemeteries
- Food safety, health and safety, environmental protection, environmental improvement
- Estates management - building design and maintenance, building control-inspection and regulation of new buildings,
- Dog control
- Licensing
- Enforcement byelaws such as those around litter
- Sports, leisure services and recreational facilities parks, open spaces and playgrounds, community centres
- Arts, heritage and cultural facilities
- Registration of births, deaths and marriages
- Off-street parking
- Local economic development, tourism and heritage.

The Council is made up of 40 elected members, with a Mayor and Deputy Mayor selected on an annual basis.