

28 th June 2016

Linkage to Corporate Plan	
Strategic Priority	Resilient, Healthy & Engaged Communities
Objective	Appointment of Qualified Food Analyst
Lead Officer	Bryan Edgar
Cost: (If applicable)	within current budgetary provision

Background

Following a tendering exercise conducted by Armagh, Craigavon and Banbridge Borough Council on behalf of all 11 Councils, The Chief Environmental Health Officers' Group have reported that the contract to provide Public Analyst Services for the 11 Councils has been awarded to Public Analyst Scientific Services Limited.

Article 27 (1) of the Food Safety (NI) Order 1991 requires that the Council appoint one or more persons (Public Analyst(s)) to act as Analyst(s) within the district of the Council.

Furthermore the Framework Agreement* (Chapter 2, para 12.8), states that Causeway Coast and Glens Borough Council shall ensure that a Food Analyst is appointed to carry out examinations and analyses of food samples. In making these appointments, all relevant legal requirements and Codes of Practice shall be satisfied.

The qualifications required by Analysts are set out in the Food Safety (Sampling and Qualifications) Regulations (NI) 2013. The Environmental Health Department is satisfied that the following persons, who are employed by Public Analyst Scientific Services, fulfil the requirements of the Regulations for appointment as Public Analysts on behalf of the Council.

Mr Ronald Anthony Ennion BSc, MChemA, CChem, FRSC, MIFST Mr Alan Thomas Richards BSc, MChemA, CChem, FRSC Ms Watney Elizabeth Moran MSc, MChemA, CChem, FRSC Mr Duncan Kenelm Arthur BSc, MChemA, CChem, MRSC Mr Nigel Kenneth Payne MSc, MChemA, CChem, MRSC Ms Joanne Hubbard BSc, MChemA, CChem, MRSC Mr Kevin Wardle MSc, MChemA, CChem, MRSC Mr Jeremy Paul Wootten MA, MChemA, CChem, MRSC

Recommendation

It is recommended that that the above persons are appointed as Public Analysts to the Council under Article 27 (1) of the Food Safety (NI) Order 1991.

*The Framework Agreement on Official Feed and Food Controls by Local Authorities (Amendment 5 April 2010)