Sporting stars celebrated at Causeway Coast and Glens Borough Council Gala Awards

Sporting stars celebrated at Causeway Coast and Glens Borough Council Gala Awards

Mon, November 04, 2019

An appearance by rugby icon Andrew Trimble was the highlight of Causeway Coast and Glens Borough Council’s gala Sports Awards, which took place in the Lodge Hotel in Coleraine on Friday evening (November 1st).

The former Ireland and Ulster player received rapturous applause as he was inducted in to the Hall of Fame, wrapping up a night filled with success stories from across the Borough. As a past-pupil of Coleraine Academical Institution, Andrew’s path to sporting greatness is rooted in his home town where his skills were nurtured and developed from a young age.

The annual awards celebrated members of the Borough’s sporting community from a wide variety of disciplines, with the overall winners selectedfrom regional heats held in Ballymoney, Coleraine, Moyle and Limavady.

The Mayor of Causeway Coast and Glens Borough Council, Councillor SeanBateson said: “Our SportsAwards are a highlight of the year for Council, as they allow us to recognise those people who make an invaluable contribution to the Causeway Coast and Glens, either as a sporting participant, coach or mentor. The short films shown on the night provide a glimpse in to the ongoing dedication and commitment behind the area’s successes, and the variety of sports represented is something to be very proud of. To all our winners and nominees, I would like to offer my warmest congratulations and I hope this acknowledgment encourages you to strive for further success.”

It was a memorable night for local rowing, with Molly Curry winning Junior Sportswoman of the Year and Katie Shirlow taking the Senior award. There was double success for Ballymoney Bowls Club who won Senior Team of the Year before Gary Kelly was named International Sportsperson of the Year following his World Cup singles success.

Causeway Coast and Glens Borough Council would like to thank everyone who helped to make the evening such a success, including compere Sarah Travers, Event AV who provided lighting, sound and video, members of the local sports councils, and Damian Mullan and Anne Paul for their contribution to the assessment panel.

A special word of thanks is extended to the award sponsors - Kennedy Orthodontics, Grafton Recruitment, Arbutus Catering Group, Small Cost Carpets and Johnston Printing for their continued support.

The winners

Junior Sportswoman of the Year: Molly Curry (rowing)

Junior Sportsman of the Year: Oliver Swinney (Athletics)

Junior Sports Team of the Year: Dalriada U19 Volleyball team

Sportsperson with a Disability: Michael McMillan (Judo)

Sports Administrator of the Year: David Craig (Tennis)

Services to Sport: David Cunningham (Football)

Coach of the Year: Annette Wilson (Hockey)

Merit Award 2019: Hugh Boyle (Running)

Senior Sports Team of the Year: Ballymoney Bowling Club

Sportswoman of the Year: Katie Shirlow (Rowing)

Sportsman of the Year: Calum Brown (Gaelic Football)

International Sportsperson of the Year: Gary Kelly (Bowls)

Chairmen’s Award: Kevin McCambridge (Cycling)

Hall of Fame: Andrew Trimble (Rugby)